Weekend of Amazing Food

This has been a really fantastic weekend! And it was chock-full of amazing food!

On Friday I felt like I was coming down with something, so I took a two-hour nap after work. Fortunately, this left me feeling revived and refreshed, so I put on some nice clothes and drove to Temple of Aaron for Friday evening Erev Rosh Hashanah services. We didn’t have tickets, which was awkward at first, but we were able to get in and enjoy with little trouble. I liked their new High Holydays book (printed in honor of ToA’s 100th anniversary); it was very educational for a novice like me. Of course, the songs and prayers were incredible, and Cantor Howitz’ voice was – as always! – a spiritual performance.

Shana Tova! Happy New Year!

The next morning, I got up early and went with Chris and Emily to the Minneapolis Farmer’s Market! It was AWESOME!! I’ve been working hard to become healthier and eat more ethically, and I found myself in a place where I could do both! Tons and tons of fruits, veggies, and produce of all kinds, and it’s all fresh, local, and frequently organic! By the time I came home, I had:

  • A whole bag of juicy, delicious cherry tomatoes
  • Crunchy, amazing organic carrots
  • Three enormous cucumbers
  • Two bell peppers (green and yellow)
  • A huge bag of incredibly fresh lettuce
  • Two loaves of homemade white sourdough
  • A half-pound of homemade spicy Thai pasta
  • Another half-pound of homemade basil garlic penne
  • A block tomato-basil cheddar
  • A block of 4-year-old sharp yellow cheddar

… and all for less than $28! It was an amazing trip, and we’re making plans to go back every other week. I’ve decided to allocate some grocery money to this, I’m that serious about it. It was so cool!

Minneapolis Farmer's Market. Om nom nom nom!

But because it happened to be necessary, and because the Farmer’s Market can’t provide everything, I went grocery shopping. Armed with a carefully-composed list, I honed my ninja grocery shopping skills and came home with three REUSABLE bags stuffed full of groceries – all for less than $50! It was so nice to put up my bags on the counter, put away all of our fresh, lovely groceries into our cupboards, and stack the bags away for next time. Something about full cupboards is so wonderful and homey… It was really nice, and it felt good to be so fortunate and secure. In such troubled times I have to acknowledge my gratitude!

Then I went to Como Park for Guy’s birthday party. It wound being a little nuts, but eventually we were all able to show up and spend some quality time together. It’s always nice to catch up with everybody, especially around a particularly bizarre game of Apples to Apples. (Man, I’ve sure got a food theme going, don’t I?)

And speaking of food, while we were there, Abbie gave us all some of her amazing homemade honey wheat bread! It was delicious, and so of course, we begged her for the recipe. And here it is – Five Minutes A Day For Fresh-Baked Bread! It seems seriously easy, and given my desire to start making stuff homemade, I think I want to try it as soon as possible!

Seriously, folks. Give it a shot!

Coupled with Chris’ recent desire to make his own peanut butter and jelly, how awesome would it be to have our very own homemade peanut butter and jelly sandwiches? I know, right? WAY AWESOME!!

Plus, I seriously want to add another thing to the “make it ourselves” list – ApartmentTherapy’s banana ice cream. All it takes is a banana. I know, I couldn’t believe it either – but I guess if you whip up a frozen banana in the food processor, it comes out very similar to a frozen custard! The banana has the right texture and enough natural sugars that it makes a fine replacement for ice cream. How cool is that?!

Just one ingredient!

Just one ingredient!

Whew!

With that, dear readers, I’m going to sign off – I think I’ve probably mentioned enough food to make you drool by now, huh? Off to work and the Leadership Summit in a little bit. Maybe they’ll have food there!

5 Responses to “Weekend of Amazing Food”

  1. LOVE fresh bread… And only FIVE minutes??

  2. Yeah! It refers to the fact that, once you make the dough and put it in the fridge, it only takes five minutes to remove it, pat it into a loaf dusted with flour, and (once it rests) throw it in the oven!

  3. abbieplouff Says:

    Baking your own bread is SO worth it. And, if you can get cheap enough flour, it’s much less expensive than buying bread from the store every week. Also, much more fresh.

    In return for the bread recipe, you guys should let me know when you’ve found a good peanut butter recipe! That sounds soooo tasty.

  4. Thanks for coming. COme again and L’shana tova!

  5. Abbie – Yeah, totally! I can’t wait to do it. And we will for sure fire a recipe your way, when we find one. I honestly think it might be just peanuts, lol.

    MFM – Wow! Thanks for the comment, and thanks for a cool place. Will be back!

Leave a Reply

