New Skirt

This is just a brief update to share a little bit of awesome. I ought to be working on my archaeology essay, but… I’d rather listen to sweet music and post cool pictures instead.

Here is a skirt that Abbie made for me!
002
0032
004

Straight from Abbie’s adorable blog, thInk Blots:

Through this process, I really realized that I love designing things for other people, particularly people I know fairly well. I know what sort of thing they like, and how to personalize it to suit them specifically. Very, very fun process. It really didn’t take me long – probably 5 hours all together, and the outcome is fabulous. She loves it, I love it, and it looks GREAT on her!

This is what she told me she likes: Mermaid skirts, buttons, and lots of threads/DIY stuff everywhere.

Knowing her, I know she wears a lot of warm colors. So I accented with some orange yarn (so you could see the threadwork), and put in buttons. Made sure the inserts started above the knee, so that her mobility wouldn’t be restricted, and added some “kick pleats” or inserts on the side seams to add to the mermaid effect.

All in all, I’m very proud of this garment.

And, because Abbie is just as adorable as her blog:

There she is! In a dress she MADE!

There she is! In a dress she MADE!

Yay for skirts, good friends, and procrastinating from homework!

Leave a Reply

